by Mandla Dube,

opens the 13 th Montreal International Black Film Festival

as a Canadian Premiere

Wednesday, 27 September 2017, Cinéma Impérial, 7PM.

Montreal, September 6, 2017 – The Montreal International Black Film Festival (MIBFF), created by the Fabienne Colas Foundation, begins its 13 th edition with the Canadian Premiere of Kalushi: The Story of Solomon Mahlangu, by Mandla Dube from South Africa. The opening ceremony will be on Wednesday, 27 September, 7PM at Cinéma Impérial – in the presence of the film director. Also, the Official Selection of Seattle Intl Film Festival and of Durban Intl Film Festival, Kalushi: The story of Solomon Mahlangu will kick off the MIBFF’s official competition.

Kalushi tells the dramatic and tragically short life story of activist and freedom fighter Solomon Kalushi Mahlangu, a young man from the impoverished Mamelodi township who was beaten and executed by the apartheid regime for a crime he did not commit. The film takes viewers on a riveting journey during which we rediscover the contribution made by Mahlangu and those who moulded and inspired him.

“We are pleased and proud to open the Festival with such a powerful and emotionally charged biopic! The very first narrative feature film on Kalushi, a hero of the anti-apartheid struggle in South Africa.” MIBFF president and Founder Fabienne Colas stated. “This film corresponds to one of the missions of the MIBFF which is to highlight stories and people who were not afraid to make their voices heard, overcame conventions, dared to claim their rights and change the state of affairs,” she concluded

“…this powerful, sometimes shocking account of the life of the apartheid martyr, Solomon Kalushi Mahlangu, frequently benefits from a strong central performance by Thabo Rametsi…” – The Seattle Times
“Kalushi is an admirable, audacious, potent and chilling historical account of the life of struggle stalwart Solomon Mahlangu that comes at a timely moment in South Africa.” – Sowetan Live

“Kalushi as a film is not grief porn or trauma tourism; it is a sensitive piece of cinema that has been made by a nuance addict.” – Mail & Guardian

The 13 th Montreal International Black Film Festival (MIBFF), the brainchild of the Fabienne Colas Foundation, will be held from September 27 to October 1st, 2017.

About the Montreal International Black Film Festival – MIBFF 
Created in 2005 by the Fabienne Colas Foundation, the Montreal International Black Film Festival (MIBFF) is currently the largest film festival in Canada entirely dedicated to black reality from all four corners of the globe. It aims to offer the public the most spectacular productions in black cinema, in addition to being a place to debate the great cultural, social, and socio-economic issues facing society. The objective of the MIBFF is to promote the development of the independent film industry, and showcase more films on black realities across the world. The festival seeks to prioritize those other films: those films from here and from abroad that do not necessarily come under the spotlight, a new cinema that moves its audience and raises awareness – and a few eyebrows. And in doing so, the aim is to address issues and showcase art that makes you think and smile, and provokes, bewilders, and shocks you—a new, fresh look at black cinema from all four corners of the globe! www.montrealblackfilm.com

Keep on top of the latest festival news:
www.montrealblackfilm.com
www.facebook.com/blackfilmfestival / www.twitter.com/filmblackmtl
www.Instagram.com/MontrealBlackFilmFest

For more information, interviews, and promotional material:
Coordinator (French-speaking): Fadwa Lapierre – fadwa@montrealblackfilm.com – 514 884-9545
Press agent (English-speaking): Danny Payne – danny@montrealblackfilm.com – 514 621-8657

de Mandla Dube,

opens the 13 th Montreal International Black Film Festivalouvrira le 13 e Festival International du Film Black de Montréal

en Première Canadienne

Mercredi 27 septembre 2017 au Cinéma Imperial – 19h

Montréal, 6 septembre 2017 – Le Festival International du Film Black de Montréal (FIFBM), créé par la Fondation Fabienne Colas, lancera sa 13e édition avec la première canadienne du long-métrage sud-africain Kalushi: The Story of Solomon Mahlangu, de Mandla Dube.a cérémonie d’ouverture aura lieu le mercredi 27 septembre à 19h au Cinéma Impérial – en présence du réalisateur du film. Sélection officielledu Festival International du Film de Seattle et du Festival International du Film de Durban, Kalushi: The story of Solomon Mahlangu ouvrira la compétition officielle.

Kalushi raconte l’histoire dramatique et tragiquement courte du militant et libérateur de la liberté, Solomon Kalushi Mahlangu, un jeune homme du canton pauvre de Mamelodi qui a été battu et exécuté par le régime de l’apartheid pour un crime qu’il n’a pas commis. Le film transporte les spectateurs dans un voyage palpitant au cours duquel on redécouvre la contribution de Mahlangu, ceux qui l’ont moulé et l’ont inspiré.

« Quelle fierté d’ouvrir le Festival avec un film historique si puissant et émouvant ! Le tout premier long-métrage sur Kalushi, un héros de la lutte anti-apartheid en Afrique du Sud ! » explique la présidente-Fondatrice du FIFBM, Mme Fabienne Colas. « Ce film correspond à l’une des missions du FIFBM qui est de mettre en valeur des histoires et des gens qui n’ont pas eu peur de faire entendre leurs voix, qui ont su aller au-delà des conventions, qui ont osé revendiquer leur droit et changer l’ordre des choses », a-t-elle conclu.

“…ce puissant et parfois choquant compte rendu de la vie du martyr d’apartheid, Solomon Kalushi Mahlangu, a bénéficié d’une forte performance de Thabo Rametsi…” – The Seattle Times
“ »Kalushi est un récit historique admirable, audacieux, puissant et raffiné de la vie de lutte, du militant Solomon Mahlangu, qui arrive à temps en Afrique du Sud” – Sowetan Live

“Kalushi, en tant que film, n’est pas une pornographie de la souffrance ou du tourisme traumatique; C’est un film sensible qui a été fait par un passionné nuancé. ” – Mail & Guardian

Le 13e Festival International du Film Black de Montreal>, créé par la Fondation Fabienne Colas, se tiendra du 27 Septembre au 1er Octobre 2017.

À propos du Festival International du Film Black de Montréal – FIFBM
Créé en 2005 par la Fondation Fabienne Colas, le Festival International du Film Black de Montréal (FIFBM) est aujourd’hui le plus important festival cinématographique au Canada entièrement dédié aux réalités noires des quatre coins du monde. Il vise à offrir au public les plus belles et les plus étonnantes découvertes du cinéma black tout en constituant un lieu de débat des grands enjeux culturels, sociaux et socio-économiques. Le FIFBM a pour mission de favoriser le développement de l’industrie du cinéma indépendant et mettre en valeur plus de films sur les réalités des Noirs de partout dans le monde. Il veut privilégier un cinéma autre, un cinéma qui vient d’ici ou d’ailleurs et qui ne reçoit pas forcément l’éclairage des projecteurs, un cinéma inédit, qui émeut, qui sensibilise et qui surprend ! Le tout, en abordant des sujets et en présentant des œuvres qui interpellent, qui provoquent, qui font sourire, qui laissent perplexe, qui choquent… Un regard nouveau et rafraîchissant sur le cinéma noir des quatre coins du globe ! www.montrealblackfilm.com

Keep on top of the latest festival news:
www.montrealblackfilm.com
www.facebook.com/blackfilmfestival / www.twitter.com/filmblackmtl
www.Instagram.com/MontrealBlackFilmFest

Pour plus d’information, entrevues et matériel promotionnel :
Coordonnatrice (franco): Fadwa Lapierre – fadwa@montrealblackfilm.com – 514 884-9545
Coordonnatrice (franco): Danny Payne – danny@montrealblackfilm.com – 514 621-8657